Agricultural Land Commission

Identity area

Type of entity

Corporate body

Authorized form of name

Agricultural Land Commission

Parallel form(s) of name

  • Provincial Agricultural Land Commission
  • British Columbia Agricultural Land Commission

Standardized form(s) of name according to other rules

    Other form(s) of name

    • ALC

    Identifiers for corporate bodies

    Description area

    Dates of existence




    Legal status

    Functions, occupations and activities

    Mandates/sources of authority

    Internal structures/genealogy

    General context

    The Provincial Agricultural Land Commission (ALC) is an independent administrative tribunal dedicated to preserving agricultural land and encouraging farming in British Columbia. The ALC administers the BC Agricultural Land Reserve (ALR). The ALC consists of a chair and six vice-chairs appointed by the Lieutenant Governor-in-Council of British Columbia (cabinet) and twelve regular commissioners appointed by the provincial Minister of Agriculture.

    Relationships area

    Access points area

    Subject access points

    Place access points


    Control area

    Authority record identifier

    Institution identifier

    Rules and/or conventions used


    Level of detail

    Dates of creation, revision and deletion

    Created on 6 Jan 2022 by KS.


    • English



      Maintenance notes